last chance

Since I got such a late start in the blogging realm, and because the end of the winter mini is so near (only 3 days left – gasp!), I thought I’d post a couple of goodies that I made with my absolute favorite (of all time) double-sided designer series papers (Loves Me) before they are long gone. <<<hold on, I feel a panic attack coming on – do I have enough? what if I run out? should I buy more and stock up? –deep breath– OK, had to stop and go check my stash. I think I’m going to be ok.>>>love-xoxo-blocks-web.jpg

These wooden blocks (two-sided, whitewashed, distressed, with beveled edges – yeah, baby!) were a huge score at Oriental Trading Company, on clearance even. The photo shows both sides of one set of blocks. I designed them for a downline meeting project (and I originally intended to give these to Dan for Valentine’s Day, but decided the color scheme was too girly). Right now, they’re sitting on my display table stacked vertically and I love looking at them! I think they’ll be a fixture in my stamp room even when the paper retires. I’m also planning on making a mantlepiece decoration with the extra blocks I bought that should be good year-round. As soon as I get around to that one, I’ll post here.nugget-purse-and-backpack.jpg

Another fun quickie project was this darling nugget purse (and optional backpack). I have to attribute the purse design to Dawn Griffith, who got the original concept from Brenda Quintant on SCS. I did these as free make-n-takes at a local crop (pre-Valentine’s Day) and they were a big hit! But a couple of gals mentioned that it would be nice if there was a design for boys too, so my friend, Bobbi Sample (who was graciously helping me all day long at this crop) and I came up with this backpack design on the fly. Granted the paper is still girly, but you can imagine what this cutie patootie backpack would look like with boy-themed paper! Sooooo easy and quick, I adapted these Nugget Purse (and Backpack) Directions from Dawn’s tutorial (thanks Dawn, you rock!) with a few changes/shortcuts (mainly I skipped a step and opted for the tag corner punch instead of the tag punch, which made an already simple project even quicker and easier).

3 Comments »

  1. Kim K Said:

    I love these. I check Dawn’s Blog daily.. lol now yours too. I’m a total stalker.. ALi Edwars is awesome as well. :}
    SO glad to have so many tlaents out there to help this sad wanna be :}
    Yeah for Bobbi I love love love the back pack. What can I say?
    I only wish the kids were allowed to bring food items to school as these would be cute for Easter treats even :{
    No food treats so Birthday Parties it will be I guess. Thanks for sharing more awesome ideas.. keep them coming.. Hey we have a SNOW Day in Western MA today.. our second :}
    Kimmie K

  2. Sandy Said:

    I love the nugget purses and saw them on Dawn’s too. Love how you adapted it to a backpack. Ingenious little minds you have.

    Sandy
    (SUTTF)

  3. DeborahSue Said:

    Okay, it’s just not fair…so much talent and so many great ideas all inside one brain!
    These are all great and anyone that receives a gift from you…well, they are BLESSED!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

