babies babies everywhere

Baby Hanna cardEverywhere I look, there are the sweetest, cutest, most precious pudgy babies! (Maybe I’m just noticing them a wee bit more because Dan and I have started our much-anticipated and equally nerve-wracking adoption process. I admit that I may be getting a teeny tiny bit baby-obsessed after spending hours – and hours and hours and hours – looking at adoption websites!)

I recently found out that one of my dearest friends is preggers. Then just today she emailed to tell me that they found out the baby is a boy (yippee! dad’s a sports nut…). I wish I lived closer to her, but since I don’t, I made her this 6×6 card today to say ‘congratuations.’

Baby boy blessings card: Certainly Celery, Bashful Blue, and Whisper White Cardstock; Sarah designer series paper; Baby Firsts, Canvas, Cute Converse (retired), and Graceful Words (retired) stamp sets; Bashful Blue, Certainly Celery, and Blush Blossom Classic Stamp Pads; Bashful Blue and Certainly Celery, Stampin’ Write Markers; Aqua Painter; blue gingham, celery and white grosgrain, and white wide organdy ribbons; linen thread; word window punch; 1/8″ circle punch, square bashful blue buttons from the Soft Subtles collection; sanding block. Notes: All images are colored in with markers except the baby faces, which I watercolored using an Aqua Painter. All layers of the card were distressed with Bashful Blue using the DTP (direct-to-paper) technique. The buttons and patterned paper were both sanded to create a distressed finish (and the paper was sanded in the middle area to create a “white” area for stamping the word “blessings.”baby-girl-white-bkgd-web.jpg

Two more friends (also in my downline) recently gave birth to the most darling little girls. I got to meet one sweetie (Lucy – love the name!) at our last downline meeting. She was only 7 weeks old and so so tiny. I’m still waiting to meet Izzy (yes, another awesome name), who was just born a few days ago – and I’m gonna, just as soon as I can limp on over to her house!

I guess I’ve just got babies on the mind… I actually made this girl card several months ago for one of my stamp classes, inspired when I found out my two friends were both having girls just a few months apart. It’s an incredibly simple and fast card to make using a dry embossing technique. Disclaimer: I can’t remember whether or not I cased some of the concepts of this card from the incredible contributors to splitcoaststampers, but it is possible.

Yeah Girl Baby card: Very Vanilla and Chocolate Chip cardstock; Spring Flowers (or Spring Showers) designer series paper; A Little Love stamp set; Shapes Classy Brass template; Basic Brown Classic Stampin’ Pad; Regal Rose Stampin’ Write Marker; Hodgepodge Hardware (aged copper spiral clip); rose grosgrain ribbon; light table; empressor stylus. Notes: for best results, stamp and color image before dry embossing.

1 Comment »

  1. DeborahSue Said:

    Both baby cards are ADORABLE and great ideas for me to use within Christian Adoption–thank you for the inspiration! WAY CUTE!
    xo


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

