A not-so-cheesey way to be green

A not-so-cheesey little boxWhile I’m always tempted to (and often do) buy those groovy tins, boxes, and other goodies at cheapy $1 prices (hello, Target Dollar Spot!), the “greenie” in me realizes that we toss (or hopefully recycle) way too much stuff everyday. So, I’m always looking for ways to reuse and repurpose would-be “trash.”

A not-so-cheesey little box (open)

I always “recycle” boxes with better-than-average thickness by punching shapes out using my Sizzix. I’ve even done that with decent flat plastic containers to create cool clear images. But sometimes really awesome containers are just dying for a quick facelift!



(Remember my altered versions of a Viactiv box and a Glide dental floss tub?)

Today I made this darling round box from an empty Laughing Cow (cheese) box. (And no, it’s not stinky…the cheese is foil-wrapped, which leaves the box in perfect condition.)

Click on the (big) image for ingredients. Note: these photos don’t do this box justice. It is just tooooo cute, if I do say so myself!

You could fill this with any small goodies, candy, round cards, or….guess what? 4″ round coasters are a perfect fit. Cool beans!

What do you think? Got anything headed for the trash that could find new life with a little paper, stamps, and ink??? I dare you to make something and post it for all to see, then be sure to come back here and comment with a link to your masterpiece!

3 Comments »

  1. Jackie Said:

    Great idea! I do have some tins from Christmas cookies or popcorn that could use a little help – I will have to find them and see what I can do with them.

  2. Allison Said:

    Super blog…fab creations…I’ll be back!

  3. DeborahSue Said:

    BRILLIANT…but I wouldn’t expect anything less!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

