clippies

ClippiesI know, I know. I’m a little behind the curve since everyone has already made these jumbo paper clips. I actually bought the clips a couple of months ago when they were all the rage, but I never got around to making them. These are the second of five projects I’m sending to my friend for her mystery order).

Each clip is a little different (on purpose). For the “d” I used two of the same making memories Jigsaw chipboard letters, traced the shape onto Dots & Dashes paper and cut that out, then DTPed both sides of each letter with Taken with Teal craft ink. I dried the ink with a heat tool, then glued on the Dots & Dashes “d” on the front of one of the letters and sanded for smooth (and slightly distressed) edges. Then I covered the entire front of that “d” in Versamark and clear embossing powder and set with a heat tool. Next, I applied E-6000 adhesive to one end of the clip and sandwiched it between the two letters. Once that was dry, I embellished with primas.

I did notice a color change as a result of the embossing. So, for the flower clip, I followed the same process as the “d” clip, but skipped the embossing. I embellished with a simple cardstock circle and button. I expect that the flower won’t be as sturdy (the chipboard was a little thinner than the mm variety), but it is fresher-looking.

The middle clip with the butterflies was an absolute whim. I wound heavy-gauge wire around the center of a clip, twisted the ends around a round skewer to create a “spring,” then stuck the butterflies (back to back, I used two of each) over the ends of the wire. Easy as pie.

So glad I finally had the chance to jump on this bandwagon. I love clippies!

2 Comments »

  1. Debbie Olson Said:

    These are just beautiful! I especially love the monogrammed one–hadn’t thought of that. . .

  2. DeborahSue Said:

    ANOTHER SUPER DUPER IDEA!
    xo


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

