[Re]Mixed Bouquet

Distressed Emboss??

OK, folks, I’m not sure if I created a new technique (or discovered an existing one I didn’t know about), or if this is a total flop. You tell me. (Seriously, I’m pretty thick-skinned.) I decided that I hated the old frame matte in those springy colors (I’m such an “earth” person), so I revamped it into something that I might actually use.

First, I inked the entire matte with Old Olive (craft) ink. Once that dried (with the help of a handy dandy heat gun), I stamped the rose from Mixed Bouquet in Versamark around the frame and sprinkled on gold embossing powder.

But…the excess embossing powder wouldn’t shake off. (That craft ink has to be really, really dry. Think days.) I brushed off as much as I could without knocking too much powder off of the images and heat set it anyhow. The mottled effect was kind of groovy, and I liked the subtle emergence of the roses here and there. So, I repeated the embossing with a chocolate embossing powder for some pop. (Oddly, this time, the craft ink was dry and the excess didn’t stick.) I actually liked it, so I decided to leave well enough alone.

I think it’s got potential. I’m calling it “distressed embossing,” unless, of course, the technique already exists (please, someone clue me in here).

4 Comments »

  1. Peggy Maier Said:

    If this technique is around I don’t know about it! Really looks neat – I like it!

  2. Linda Bullard Said:

    I think you’ve discovered a new a very cool technique! Gorgeous! It must really be something IRL. Linda

  3. Kim K Said:

    THIS ROCKS! I purchase Distress Gold Emboss Powder from Rangers :}
    I think you invented it stilthough :}

  4. Kelly Albright Said:

    Great matte! Looks gorgeous!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

