Here comes the bride (and groom)

Engagement - outsideMy brother is getting married this summer and I think it’s pretty safe to post my card ideas since I doubt he reads my craft blog. (His fiance came onto the scene after my blog hiatus began, so she’s not likely to see these either.) I heard through the grapevine that the wedding colors were “purple,” but I wasn’t sure if that meant true purple, or a lighter lavender. Then I ran across a single textured sheet of pretty purple cardstock and decided to have a go at an engagement and wedding card anyhow.

Engagement - inside

The  “Congratulations on your engagement” card (which I completely winged with no visual inspiration) is a basic, vertical, almost envelope-style tri-fold. I added a strip of gold cardstock under the flap (to lengthen it) and scalloped the gold. I added a ribbon to mask the transition between the two cardstocks and embellished with layered flowers and a tiny lavender flower brad. (The circular bronze paper clip was just there to hold the card shut for the photo, but I kind of like it and may work it into the card if I can.) Then, I wanted to incorporate some old Sell-a-bration stamped images that I had in my stash (already colored and decorated with dazzling diamonds!), so I first added a lavender layer to the inside of the card, then punched a circle in the lower flap, and glued on the “Congratulations” image to the inside of the card, lining it up to show through the window.

Wedding cake card

For the wedding card, I found my inspiration in Paper Crafts magazine (an older edition). I used the same base purple textured cardstock for a 6×6 card (12×6 folded in half), then layered with silver and shimmery white cardstocks. I used a fancy corner punch on the shimmery white, stamped and embossed in silver the word “love,” then cut three graduating rectangles out of a retired patterned vellum to create a wedding cake shape and glued onto the shimmery white. (Hint: run vellum through an adhesive machine for a perfectly even coating; otherwise, you may see the adhesive under vellum.)

I then embellished with paper flowers and small jewels (and probably overdid the jewels!). I may add more to the top of the cake to make it look more finished. I may not.

In hindsight, I wish I had converted the word “love” to a flower stem rather than placing the flower off to the left (which is how it was in the inspiration card). I could nit-pick this card to death, but it’s still rather pretty (especially in person) and I had fun making it. Isn’t that the point?

1 Comment »

  1. Jeanine Said:

    Shannon the Shannon Lawrence from years ago. OMG I can’t believe it, it is wonderful to have you back bloggin girlfriend you haven’t lost the touch the purple card is beautiful, the cake card is WOW. How is the little one I miss all the updates and stuff.
    Granny-Jeanine
    http://www.blstamper.blogspot.com


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

