I {heart} teachers

I know that teacher gifts aren’t the norm for this particular holiday, but I felt like doing something to make up for those horrid preschool Valentines. Okay, okay. They were so bad that my ego was shot, and I needed a quick fix. So, I whipped up three simple altered composition books for Joe’s teachers. They were bright, cheerful, cleanly modern, and easy to make. (I can’t find online instructions to match exactly the way I do it, but this is a decent video to give you the basic how-to. If you’re going for a really distressed look, you just trim the cover/inside exactly to size, then sand and ink like crazy to avoid wrapping. (Note: regardless of method, I prefer using thinner single-sided papers over cardstock or thick double-sided papers.) Note to self: check teacher initials in photo layout before uploading.

But I couldn’t leave it at that. I wanted to do something nice for the admin staff too. I saw this darling (and huge) heart box in the background of a Martha Stewart show. Of course, I didn’t bother to look up the instructions. My smaller version turned out fine on the fly, but I’d recommend reading the how-to to save yourself some trouble.

In lieu of candies, I opted for double chocolate chip cupcakes sprinkled with powdered sugar to give it more of a chocolate box appeal. I wrapped the whole thing in satin ribbon and hand-delivered to school this morning. Hope they liked it!

Leave a Reply

